Division E: Sun and Heliosphere

August 24 and 27, 2018



Yihua Yan – NAOC – Beijing (China)


Mini-symposium: “Solar and Heliospheric Physics”

General Information:
Division E (Sun and Heliosphere), as all other IAU Divisions, will have a dedicated Division Meeting in Vienna. Division Meeting is a scientific meeting on “Solar and Heliospheric Physics” covering all research fields relevant for Division E. The Meeting is scheduled for Friday, August 24 and Monday, August 27. All Division Meetings will run in parallel, but no other meetings (scientific or business) will be scheduled for these time slots.

The joint Business Meeting of Division E, its Commissions and Working Groups is on 27 August 2015 between 15:30-17:00.

The SOC of the Division Meeting consists of the members of the Division Steering Committee: Yihua Yan (chair), Sarah Gibson, Marc L DeRosa, Lyndsay Fletcher, Natalie Krivova, Ingrid Mann, Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi, Arnab Rai Choudhuri, Eduard P. Kontar, Toshifumi Shimizu, Nandita Srivastava, Rudolf von Steiger.

The posters are arranged, during the whole period of Division E Days in 24-27 August, just outside of the meeting room, or in innovative ways of looking at them electronically with PICO. All Break time slots are as "Breaks & Poster Viewing (toom: L3 Lobby & PICO site)" and a session with 1-min presentation for each poster.

Break & Poster Session on Friday, 24. Aug.:
     10:00 - 10:30 (Chairperson: Yihua Yan, Marc L DeRosa)
     15:00 - 15:30 (Chairperson: Natalie Krivova, Lyndsay Fletcher)

Break & Poster Session on Monday, 27. Aug:
     10:00 - 10:30 (Chairperson: Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi, Ingrid Mann)
     15:00 - 15:30 (Chairperson: Toshifumi Shimizu)



Abstract list for Div.E
Poster list for Div.E

Friday, 24. Aug.

Solar Interior and Dynamo
Chair: Yihua Yan, Natalie Krivova

room: L3
10:30 - Howe, Rachel (Helioseismology/evidence for change in dynamo)
11:00 - Böning, Vincent (Inferences of the Deep Solar Meridional Flow)
11:15 - Yang, Dan (Helioseismic Holography Using Multiple Vantage Points)
11:30 - Hanson, Chris (Supervised Neural Networks for Helioseismic Ring-diagram Inversions)
11:45 - Moore, Christopher (The Solar Corona viewed through the MinXSS)

Solar Atmospheres and Activities
Chair: Marc L DeRosa, Lyndsay Fletcher

room: L3
13:30 - Temmer, Manuela (Early CME evolution and associated phenomena in the solar atmosphere)
14:00 - Veronig, Astrid (On the factors determining the eruptive character of solar flares)
14:15 - Göker, Ümit Deniz (emporal Variations of Different Solar Activity Indices and Solar Spectral Irradiance Variability of Some Chromospheric Emission Lines Through the Solar Cycles 21-23)
14:30 - Menezes, Fabian (The subterahertz sun: equatorial and polar radii from SST and ALMA)
14:45 - Wheatland, Michael (Changes in the photospheric magnetic field produced by flares)

Solar Atmospheres and Activities
Chair: Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi,Rudolf von Steiger

room: L3
15:30 - Benz, Arnold O. (Electron Acceleration in Nanoflares and Preflares - Relevant for Coronal Heating?)
15:45 - Bisoi, Susanta Kumar (Evidence of a distant decimetric radio source connected to the main flare site: First high temporal and spatial GMRT observations)
16:00 - Yan, Yihua (A Circular Ribbon Flare Event as Observed by MUSER)
16:15 - Park, Eunsu (AI-generated EUV images of the Sun)
16:30 - Mrozek, Tomasz (The catalogue of failed eruptions registered by the SDO/AIA)
16:45 - Barnes, Graham (Understanding the Where and the How Big of Solar Flares)

Solar Wind, Heliospheric Transients and Space Weather
Chair: Toshifumi Shimizu

room: L3
17:00 - Kilpua, Emilia (Recent Living Review on CMEs in interplanetary space)
17:30 - Russell, Christopher (The Solar Wind over the Last Four Sunspot Cycles)
18:00 - Moon, Yong-Jae (Application of deep learning methods for image-to-image translation to solar and geophysical data)
18:15 - Holappa, Lauri (IMF By-dependent enhancement in high-latitude geomagnetic activity in local winter)
18:30 - Jeon, Seonggyeong (Statistical study on the kinematic classification of coronal mass ejections from 4 to 30 solar radii)


Monday, 27. Aug.

PhD. Prize talks & Poster Session
Chair: Sarah Gibson, Rudolf von Steiger

room: L3
10:30 - Takasao, Shinsuke (Toward understanding of the production and evolution of large solar flares)
10:45 - Gebreegzabihar, Kinfe (Influence of Active Region Inflows in a 3D Babcock-Leighton Solar Dynamo Model)
11:00 - posters

Science Opportunity with Solar Instrumentation
Chair: Sarah Gibson, Ingrid Mann

room: L3
13:30 - Solanki, Sami (Science from Solar Orbiter)
13:45 - Martinez Pillet, Valentin (Science from DKIST)
14:00 - Vourlidas, Angelos (Science from Parker Solar Probe)
14:15 - Shimojo, Masumi (Solar Science with ALMA)
14:30 - Yuanyong Deng (Science from Space & ground-based Solar Instrumentation in China)
14:45 - Klein, Karl-Ludwig (radio diagnostics of the Sun with old and the new instruments)

Business Meeting of Division E and its Commissions, WGs
Chair: Yihua Yan

room: L3
15:30 - Yihua Yan (Division E President's report)
15:55 - Vanessa McBride (OAD Representative)
15:58 - Natalie Krivova (Commission C.E1 President's report)
16:08 - Lyndsay Fletcher (Commission C.E2 President's report)
16:18 - Ingrid Mann (Commission C.E3 President's report)
16:28 - Dibyendu Nandi (“Impact of Magnetic Activity on Solar and Stellar Environments” WG Chair’s Report)
16:36 - Jay M. Pasachoff (“Solar Eclipses” WG Chair’s Report)
16:44 - Frederic Clette/Alexei A. Pevtsov (“Coordination of Synoptic Observations of the Sun” WG Chairs’ Report)
16:52 - Greg Kopp/Alexander I. Shapiro (“Solar Irradiance” WG Chairs’ Report)


Yihua Yan

XXX IAU General Assembly | ACV - Austria Center Vienna  | Bruno-Kreisky-Platz 1  | 1220 Vienna